Weinachtsmarkt (Vienna, Austria)

I  have visited Vienna one time on a Christmas season and I’ve had a fantastic time. The yuletide atmosphere in the capital was inspiring and dream-like. It was my first time seeing a German market having just arrived from a tropical country. The markets were packed with tourists from different neighboring  countries. You could hear them speaking in their mother tongues, maybe discussing what a good/rubbish time they were having.

It is given that things sold in Christkindlmarkts are overpriced, but that is not the point. The spirit of Christmas is not something to be put a price tag on. Families and friends visit the market to celebrate the season and togetherness. I had this thinking when I was lined up waiting for my turn to be served for a nice mulled wine and a proper German sausage. I was ecstatic not because it was my first time experiencing the European Christmas culture, but the fact that my new family was there with me.

So on on guys try to visit your local German market with your loved ones. Not a bad idea!

Leave a Reply

