Itching to Writing Again

My sincere apologies to my followers for being stagnant for almost three months with just some picture posts for you to see. There has been a lot of changes in my life since December so Morena here had not got the proper chance to write anything about travel. To be honest with you guys my first escapade this year was just in February and it was locally, but I enjoyed it because that was with my beloved friends- something I haven’t done before!

Let’s get to the main point! Shall we? ๐Ÿ™‚

One weekend in February, my friends and I booked a trip to the Holy Island and Durham in Northumbria- my first time to wander in the Northern part of the country. At first it was just a mere trip with friends but having seen the castle and experienced the heart-pounding climb to the tower of Durham Cathedral made the weekend gate-away more interesting than expected. I thank my dear friend who invited and forced me to go.

National Holidays has also to be praised for making our weekend wonderful. From the smooth bus travel to the hotel of their choice was worth the price. I wouldn’t be so critical on the food served to us at the hotel because let’s be fair “we get what we pay for” and it wasn’t bad at all. We had a selection of food to choose from for a three course meal. The service was absolutely commendable!

The highlight of the trip was in Holy Island. I couldn’t believe my eyes looking at the castle on top of a hill that I saw in the documentary called “Saints and Sinners” two days before. That feeling when you see it in reality, awesome! Such a shame though because we didn’t have the chance to go inside it  as we had a very limited time to go around the island. Although we had time constraints, I believe we made our visit so fruitful. My favourite part was tasting mead- an alcoholic beverage native to the area.  According to the story honeymooners would be drinking mead for the whole month of their sweet escapade.

Thinking of going back soon…not for the mead though nor honeymoon. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

